Massapequa Funeral Home’s history dates back to 1945, when Albert Michalek opened the first location at 99 New York Ave. (what is now the Marine Corps League). When Albert died in 1964, his son-in-law, Allen Nicholson, took over. Allen went on to build our North Chapel at 1050 Park Blvd. in Massapequa Park. The grand opening was held in 1971.
Allen died suddenly in 1990, and his son, Travis Nicholson, became the new owner. Travis’ passion for helping area families was evident, and in only one year, our funeral home doubled the number of families we served. Travis was so grateful for the ways the people of Massapequa had supported his family and wanted to give back to the community.
To express his gratitude and to better accommodate the needs of those around him, Travis purchased the vacant land on the southeast corner of Whitewood Drive and Merrick Road and began building the funeral home’s second location in 1996. The South Chapel, a breathtaking, New-England-style facility, opened quietly on September 11, 2001, as the country mourned in the wake of the terrorist attacks.
As the third generation to own Massapequa Funeral Home, Travis and his team are honored to serve their neighbors and friends with the same superior service and unmatched quality as those who came before them.